STEM Contact Information

HCC STEM Departments

HCC district is composed of six major campuses – Central, Southwest, Northwest, Southeast, Northeast and Coleman.  
The STEM administration is centralized with Deans, Chairs and Associated Chairs whose offices are located at specific campuses.

Following is the contact information for the administartion and their departments.
Feel free to consult with them if you have questions regarding your STEM education and career.
Counselors at each college may also help you while you are at HCC or if you are planning to transfer.

Deans for STEM

Interim Dean of Natural Science and Horticulture

Mohamad M. Tlass 
SW - Stafford
#LHUB 206
Houston, TX 77004
ph: 713-718-6140


Dean of Engineering Center of Excellence

John Vasselli
Engineering Center of Excellence
HCC Alief Campus
Room A420
2811 Hayes Road, Houston, 77082


Dean of Mathematics

Mr. Tim Sever
SE Campus
Room 101, Angela Morales Bldg




Dr. DaeJan Grigsby
Rm S113, Scarcella Bldg
10041 Stafford Road
Stafford, TX 77477
ph: 713-718-7775


Associate Chairs

Dr. Anna Koshy
Central & Coleman Campuses
Rm LHSB 402, 1300 Holman 
Houston, Tx 77004
ph: 713-718-5659

Dr. Shadi Kilani
NW Campus
Rm 319, West Houston Institute
Rm 801, Spring Branch Campus
ph: 713-718-7035

Dr. Chukwuemeka Onyewuchi Opara
NE Campus
Rm 227, 555 Community College Drive
Houston, TX 77013
ph: 713-718-5249

Dr. Tom Loesch
SE Campus
Room 124.2B, Felix Morales Bldg
6815 Rustic Street
Houston, Texas 77087
ph: 713-718-7340




Dr. Emmanuel Ewane
NW Campus
Room 317, West Houston Institute (WHI)
2811 Hayes Road
Houston, Texas 77082


Associate Chair

Dr. Grace Zoorob
313 LHSB, Central Campus
Houston, Texas 77004


Natural Sciences


Dr. Kumela Tafa
(Physics/Astronomy/Geology/Horticulture/Technical Mathematics)
Central Campus
LHSB 402
1300 Holman
Houston, TX 77004
ph: 713-718-5569


Associate Chair

Cyril O. Anoka
NW - Spring Branch Campus
1010 W. Sam Houston Parkway N.
Houston, TX 77043
ph: 713-718-5638




Dr. Susan Fife
SW - Stafford Campus
Room N108, Scarcella Bldg.
Cash Road, Stafford, TX


Associate Chairs

Dr. Jaime Hernandez
Central Campus
Rm. 369, San Jacinto Building
1300 Holman Street
Houston, TX 77004

Mr. Ernest Lowery
NW - Katy Campus
Room 112A
1550 Foxlake Drive
Houston, TX 77084

Mr. Mahmoud Basharat
NE - Codwell Campus
Room 105, Codwell Hall
555 Community College Drive
Houston, TX 77013