Computer Systems Networking - Cyber Security Certificate Level 2

Print Friendly and PDF

Computer Systems Networking - Cyber Security - Certificate Level 2

The Network Systems and Cyber Security Certificates Level I and Level II are designed to help students learn the basics of Networking and Telecommunications. The courses taken in these certificates apply toward the AAS degree in Network Systems and Cyber Security.


Semester 1
EDUC 1300 Learning Framework 3
ITSC 1307 UNIX Operating System I 3
BCIS 1305 Business Computer Applications OR
ITMT 1358 Windows Client Operating System 3
ITNW 1425 Fundamentals of Networking Technologies OR
ITCC 1414 CCNA 1: Introduction to Networks 4
Semester 2
ITSY 1342 Information Technology Security 3
ITNW 1313 Computer Virtualization 3
Semester 3


Semester 1
ITSY 2330 Intrusion Detection 3
ITSY 2401 Firewalls and Network Security 4
ITSY 2443 Computer System Forensics 4
Semester 2
ITSY 1491 Special Topics in Information Technology/Security 4
ITSY 2471 Cyber Competitions (Capstone) 4
Semester 3
Total Credits 38

**Capstone Statement
A capstone course is a course designed to provide opportunities for students to integrate knowledge from their core and concentration courses, to gain insight into the meanings of professionalism and professional practice, and to reflect on the norms of a discipline or profession.

Gainful Employment

Program Duration

This program is designed to be completed in 76 weeks.

Program Cost

This program will cost $4,685* if completed within normal time. There may be additional costs for living expenses. These costs were accurate at the time of posting, but may have changed.
*Includes estimates for books, supplies, and equipment.


Fewer than 10 students completed this program within normal time. Typical debt total has been withheld to preserve the confidentiality of the students.

Licensure Info

The State of Texas does not have licensure requirements for this profession.


For more information about graduation rates, loan repayment rates, and post-enrollment earnings about this institution and other postsecondary institutions please click here:


Last updated June 2019.