Newly elected, re-elected HCC trustees sworn into office

Jan 13, 2022

Newly elected and re-elected Houston Community College (HCC) trustees were sworn into office on January 12 in ceremonies held at the HCC Administration Building.

The HCC board determines and interprets policies that govern the college system. Members are elected to staggered six-year terms and serve without compensation.

Trustee Dr. Adriana Tamez, re-elected District 3 trustee; Dr. Reagan Flowers, re-elected District 4 trustee and current interim Board Chair; David Wilson, newly elected District 6 trustee; and, Eva Loredo, District 8 all took their oath of office.

“Today is a day of celebration for our institution as we honor our history and traditions and congratulate our newly elected and re-elected trustees,” said Chancellor Cesar Maldonado, Ph.D., P.E. “We acknowledge your dedication and commitment to public service and we look forward to working with you to advance the mission and vision of the College and elevating the lives of those whom we serve throughout the Houston community and region.”

Dr. Adriana Tamez, re-elected to serve District 3, said she remains focused on developing education, social, health and community institutions that empower families. She also said workforce programs must be emphasized.

“More than ever, education is in a crisis. People need jobs and they need workforce training,” the longtime educator and community leader said. “We need your help to get people through our doors – together we can transform lives.”

Dr. Reagan Flowers, interim board chair and trustee for District 4, presided over the ceremony. The advocate for Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) education said the governing board is well-positioned to advance its educational programs.

Dr. Flowers said she serves on the board “to make Houston Community College the most relevant community college in the country and to carry out the priorities identified for the institution and drive the success of our students.”

Formerly representing District 2, Trustee Wilson will now serve District 6. The businessman, founder of the Texas Electrical Safety Association and longtime vocational educator, is an advocate for technical education. He also called for increased student enrollment in HCC’s nursing programs, citing future demand for nurses and greater participation in automotive and new energy training programs.

Trustee Eva Loredo, the longest serving HCC board member, and now considered its Dean, was sworn in to represent District VIII. The former teacher and elementary school principal was first elected in 2009 and served as Board Chair in 2017.

“Lots of people know of us but our community is still in great need,” she said of HCC. “We need to get down to the grassroots and let people know the many good things we have to offer.”

Other HCC current board members include: Trustee Monica Flores Richart, District I; Trustee Robert Glaser, District V; Dr. Cynthia Lenton-Gary, District VII; and, Dr. Pretta VanDible Stallworth, District IX


2021 HCC Trustee Swearing-In Ceremony

« Previous Article | Next Article »