HCC Board of Trustees incumbents win re-election

Nov 10, 2017

Houston Community College (HCC) Board of Trustees members Dr. Carolyn Evans-Shabazz and Trustee Robert Glaser were re-elected to their positions Tuesday. 

Evans-Shabazz, a retired educator, represents District IV, which stretches from the Texas Medical Center to parts of Sunnyside, Third Ward, Sharpstown, Chinatown and Boone Road. Evans-Shabazz said, “Education is my passion and the constituents in District IV have given me the opportunity to contribute to a great educational institution.”   

Glaser, a private business owner, represents District V, which includes West University Place, Rice Village and Bellaire. “I am honored to continue representing District V, and I thank the constituents for their confidence in me,” Glaser said.

Eva Loredo, Board Chair, congratulated her colleagues on their re-elections. “We look forward to the continuation of Dr. Evans-Shabazz and Trustee Glaser on the board and working collaboratively towards the ongoing mission of student success at HCC,” Loredo said.

There will be a run-off election in District IX between Eugene Pack and Pretta VanDible Stallworth. The seat is being vacated by Trustee Christopher Oliver.

The HCC Board is comprised of nine trustees who serve six-year terms.

« Previous Article | Next Article »