Carolyn Evans-Shabazz named HCC Board Chair for second straight year

Jan 11, 2019

Dr. Carolyn Evans-ShabazzThe Houston Community College Board of Trustees has elected Trustee Carolyn Evans-Shabazz as its chair for the second consecutive year.

The board also elected Trustee John P. Hansen as vice chair and, for the second consecutive year, Trustee Zeph Capo as secretary.

“I am honored to be elected again by my colleagues to serve as board chair,” said Evans-Shabazz, who represents District IV. “I look forward to continuing to work with the board and administration in 2019 on strategic initiatives and promoting HCC’s great programs.”

Hansen, the District VI representative, said, "I look to make a constructive contribution to increasing HCC's positive impact in the Houston community."

Capo, who represents District I, said he expects 2019 to be a very successful year for HCC.  “We are serving more than 100,000 students every year and our programs continue to evolve and expand to meet the needs of those students and our community," Capo added.

« Previous Article | Next Article »