Advisors

Advising Information

Office Hours and Location

The Office on International Student Services & Study Abroad (OISS&SA) is open  8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m (Monday through Thursday) and 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. on Friday.

The office is open for Walk-in Advising during the following hours:


DSOs (international admissions/immigration advising)


Monday-Thursday
10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Friday
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Academic Advisors

Monday-Thursday
10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Friday
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Study Abroad

Study Abroad advising is by appointment only. Please contact oiss.international@hccs.edu for more information.

Walk-In Location

3200 Main St.
Houston, TX 77002 
Entrance is located at the intersection of Elgin and Travis, on the street level of the parking garage.

Parking

Parking is available on the 2nd floor of the garage in spots marked "Visitor" and on the 7th and 8th floors. Additional parking may also be found in the parking lot on Rosalie Street behind the HCC Administration Building.

Who is My DSO and Academic Advisor?

The Office of International Student Services & Study Abroad (OISS&SA) is comprised of 3 groups of advisors to assist prospective and current F-1 students with their needs: International Admissions, Immigration Advising and Academic Advising. Students are assigned based on the initial letter of their last name/surname and the service required.

International Admissions (prospective and change-of-status students) 

Last Name/Surname

DSO/Int’l Advisor

E-mail Address

A — C

Leila Allen

leila.allen@hccs.edu

D — Ka

Eloy Anaya

eloy.anaya@hccs.edu

Kb — (Nguyen, H)

Thit Lwin

thit.lwin@hccs.edu

(Nguyen, I) — R

Ginger Fabian

virginia.fabian@hccs.edu

S — Z

Rebecca Vickers

rebecca.vickers@hccs.edu

Recruitment and Campus Outreach

Ronnie Turner

ronnie.turner@hccs.edu

* The alphabetical distribution of students is subject to change. Students are required to meet with their assigned or designated advisor.

Immigration Advising (current F-1 students)

Last Name/Surname

DSO/Int’l Advisor

E-mail Address

A — Dan

Tina Do

tina.do@hccs.edu

Dao — Kik

Sam (Mason) Philpot

sam.philpot@hccs.edu

Kil — (Nguyen, H)

Mahnaz Arzanipour

mahnaz.arzanipour@hccs.edu

(Nguyen, I) — Sam

Iskra Velichkova

iskra.velichkova@hccs.edu

San — Z

Thomas Kallarackal

thomas.kallarackal@hccs.edu

* The alphabetical distribution of students is subject to change. Students are required to meet with their assigned or designated advisor.

Academic Advising (program selection, credit transfer, concurrent enrollment)

Last Name/Surname

Academic Advisor

E-mail Address

A — Man

Marisol Beach

marisol.beach@hccs.edu

Mao — Z Thomas Gustafsson

thomas.gustafsson@hccs.edu

* The alphabetical distribution of students is subject to change. Students are required to meet with their assigned or designated advisor.

DSO on Campus Q&A

The Designated School Officials/ International Student Advisors (DSO's/ISA's) from the OISS&SA make regular visits to Houston Community College campuses.

In an effort to better serve our F-1 students, DSO/ISA's will be available in the lobby of the campuses once a month for questions concerning F-1 students as well as hosting short seminars covering various subjects. Each month we will cover a different topic that will be presented at every campus. Furthermore, before and after the scheduled seminars, the DSO/ISA will be available to F-1 students for counseling.

For dates and times that the DSO/ISA will be at your campus please refer to the OISS&SA Events page.

*All students are welcome to join the international advisor at anyone of the campuses.