HCC bulletin concerning the President’s Executive Order on immigration

Jan 30, 2017


Dear Members of the HCC Community,

On January 27, 2017, President Trump signed an executive order that restricts travel to the United States of foreign nationals from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. However, this list may be expanded as a result of the Secretary of Homeland Security, in consultation with the Secretary of State, submitting a list of additional countries for inclusion in the restrictions.

Houston Community College is encouraging any students, faculty, or staff members who are not United States citizens or may be impacted by the executive order to avoid any travel outside of the U.S. at this time. More details.

Additionally, the executive order directs the Secretary of Homeland Security to expedite the completion and implementation of a biometric entry-exit tracking system as well as uniform screening standards and procedures, which may affect all foreign nationals.

We have been advised by legal counsel that foreign nationals and Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) students should also review the latest updates on immigration issues before departing the United States and contact their own immigration counsel before making travel plans outside of the U.S.

Houston Community College has many students, faculty, and staff from international countries. Each person is a valued and welcomed member of our community and family.

If you have questions, please contact Bianca Schonberg with the HCC Office of International Student Services at 713.718.8521 or oiss.international@hccs.edu.


Cesar Maldonado, Ph.D., P.E.

« Previous Article | Next Article »