T-STEM Program Overview

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) was awarded HCC the Texas-Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (T-STEM) Challenge Scholarship Grant Program. Term of Grant: June 19, 2014 – January 31, 2016. This grant supports development, implementation, and maintenance of scholarships for students pursuing degree programs in STEM programs. The T-STEM grant assists to increase graduation rate in STEM and related degree and certificate programs. HCC has been awarded 153 scholarships with a total of $402,630.00 for the academic year 2014-2016. HCC awards scholarships to eligible students in an amount not to exceed $2500.00 annually for a maximum of two years of support.

Managers of T-STEM at the colleges are listed below per chosen college.

Northwest College – Acting Dean Branson Brade at Branson.Brade@hccs.edu
Southeast College – Professor Marion Foster at Marion.Foster@hccs.edu
Southwest College – Dr. Leena Sawant at Leena.Sawant@hccs.edu
Central College – Dr. Dongning Lu at Dongning.Lu@hccs.edu
Coleman College – Director Jeff Gricar at Jeff.Gricar@hccs.edu
Northeast College – Dr. Beverly Perry at Beverly.Perry@hccs.edu

For more information contact HCC T-STEM Program Director, Dr. Jackeline Gascon at Jackeline.Gascon@hccs.edu

 

News

HCC Southwest student realizes dream through summer internship

Jul 9, 2014, By HCC Southwest Public Relations

Zeeshan Qavi, a HCC Southwest student is realizing his high-tech dream with some help from the Houston Community College Virtual Career Center (VCC), Texas-Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (T-STEM) manager, Leena Sawant and a summer internship with Techno Chaos.

  • Tags:
  • Southwest College,
  • District,
  • Students

News

HCC awarded $402,630 in Texas STEM grant

Aug 11, 2014

HCC students can now apply for a Texas STEM scholarship, term of grant is June 19, 2014 – January 31, 2016.

  • Tags:
  • District,
  • Central College,
  • Coleman College,
  • Distance Education,
  • Continuing Education,
  • Northeast College,
  • Northwest College,
  • Southeast College,
  • Southwest College,
  • Students