Advising Information

Office Hours and Location

The Office on International Student Services & Study Abroad (OISS&SA) is open from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm.

 

The office is open for Walk-in Advising during the following hours.

 

Monday-Thursday
10:00 am – 4:00 pm

Friday
9:00 am – 1:00 pm

 

Location

3100 Main St.
Houston, TX 77002
Entrance is on Eligin in the first floor of the garage

Parking is behind 3100 Main St. on Rosalie St.

Who is my DSO and Contact Information

Each student is assigned a Designated School Official/ International Student Advisor (DSO/ISA) based on the initial letter of their last name. If you have any questions regarding your F-1 status, please email your DSO/ISA.

Last Name

DSO/Int’l Advisor

E-mail

Aa - Aq

Irena Aleksic

Irena.aleksic@hccs.edu

Ar - Cl

Mason Philpot

sam.philpot@hccs.edu

Co - F

Marilyn Vega

Marilyn.vega@hccs.edu

G - J

Bridget Canty

Bridget.canty@hccs.edu

K - Li

Mahnaz Arzanipour

mahnaz.arzanipour@hccs.edu

Lj - Nd

Thomas Kallarackal

thomas.kallarackal@hccs.edu

Ne - Ol

Leila Allen

Leila.allen@hccs.edu

Om - San

Eloy Anaya

eloy.anaya@hccs.edu

Sao - Tran

Ginger Fabian

virginia.fabian@hccs.edu

Trana – Z

Johna Davis-McClendon

  johna.davismcclendon@hccs.edu

* The alphabetical distribution of students is subject to change.

Appointments

Students must make an appointment with the OISS&SA for the following services:

  • Change of Status
  • Reinstatement
  • Optional Practical Training (OPT)
  • Study Abroad Advising

To make an appointment, please call 713-718-8521.

Campus Visits

The Designated School Officials/ International Student Advisors (DSO's/ISA's) from the OISS&SA make regular visits to Houston Community College campuses.

In an effort to better serve our F-1 students, DSO/ISA's will be available at the campuses once a month for questions concerning F-1 students as well as hosting short seminars covering various subjects. Each month we will cover a different topic that will be presented at every campus. Furthermore, before and after the scheduled seminars, the DSO/ISA will be available to F-1 students for counseling.

For dates and times that the DSO/ISA will be at your campus please refer to the OISS&SA Campus Visit Calendar below.

Please Note:
There will be no campus visits December 2013 and January 2014, campus visits will resume February 2014.

OISS&SA Campus Visit Calendar

There will be no campus visits during the months of July and August. Campus visits will resume in September.

Please check back for the September calendar.