Apply Now

Steps to apply - International Students
New and Transfer Students CLICK HERE: hccs.edu/f1applynow

Refer here for  Helpful Links  to navigate our website.

Advising Information

Office Hours and Location

The Office on International Student Services & Study Abroad (OISS&SA) is open  8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m (Monday through Thursday) and 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. on Friday.

The office is open for Walk-in Advising during the following hours:


DSOs (international admissions/immigration advising)


Monday-Thursday
10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Friday
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Academic Advisors

Monday-Thursday
9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Friday
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Study Abroad

Study Abroad advising is by appointment only. Please contact oiss.international@hccs.edu for more information.

Walk-In Location

3200 Main St.
Houston, TX 77002 
Entrance is located at the intersection of Elgin and Travis, on the street level of the parking garage
Parking is available on the 2nd and 7th floors of the garage in spots marked "Visitor." Additional parking may also be found in the parking lot on Rosalie Street behind the HCC Administration Building.

Appointments

Students must make an appointment with the OISS&SA for the following services:

  • Reinstatement
  • Study Abroad Advising

To make an appointment, please call 713.718.8521 or email oiss.international@hccs.edu.

DSO on campus Q&A

The Designated School Officials/ International Student Advisors (DSO's/ISA's) from the OISS&SA make regular visits to Houston Community College campuses.

In an effort to better serve our F-1 students, DSO/ISA's will be available in the lobby of the campuses once a month for questions concerning F-1 students as well as hosting short seminars covering various subjects. Each month we will cover a different topic that will be presented at every campus. Furthermore, before and after the scheduled seminars, the DSO/ISA will be available to F-1 students for counseling.

For dates and times that the DSO/ISA will be at your campus please refer to the OISS&SA Events page.

*All students are welcome to join the international advisor at anyone of the campuses.

 

Who is My DSO and Academic Advisor?

The Office of International Student Services & Study Abroad (OISS&SA) is comprised of 3 groups of advisors to assist prospective and current F-1 students with their needs: International Admissions, Immigration Advising and Academic Advising. Students are assigned a Designated School Official/International Student Advisor (DSO/ISA) or academic advisor based on the initial letter of their last name/surname and the service required.

International Admissions (prospective and change-of-status students) 

Last Name/Surname

DSO/Int’l Advisor

E-mail Address

A — Che

Sam (Mason) Philpot

sam.philpot@hccs.edu

Chf — Ka

Mahnaz Arzanipour

mahnaz.arzanipour@hccs.edu

Kb — M

Ginger Fabian

virginia.fabian@hccs.edu

N — Sah

Tina Do

 tina.do@hccs.edu

Sai — Z

Dr. Johna Davis-McClendon

johna.davis@hccs.edu

Recruitment and Campus Outreach

Ronnie Turner

ronnie.turner@hccs.edu

* The alphabetical distribution of students is subject to change. Students are required to meet with their assigned or designated advisor.

Immigration Advising (current F1 students)

Last Name/Surname

DSO/Int’l Advisor

E-mail Address

A — Dao

Eloy Anaya

eloy.anaya@hccs.edu

Dap — Khan

Leila Allen

 leila.allen@hccs.edu

Khao — (Nguyen, Ha)

Thomas Kallarackal

 thomas.kallarackal@hccs.edu

(Nguyen, Hb) — Sale

Rebecca Vickers

rebecca.vickers@hccs.edu

Salf — Z

Thit Lwin

thit.lwin@hccs.edu

* The alphabetical distribution of students is subject to change. Students are required to meet with their assigned or designated advisor.

Academic Advising (program selection, credit transfer, concurrent enrollment)

Last Name/Surname

Academic Advisor

E-mail Address

A — Hoa

Saul Zarco 

saul.zarco@hccs.edu

Hoc — Oued Thomas Gustafsson

thomas.gustafsson@hccs.edu

Oul — Z Marisol Beach

marisol.beach@hccs.edu

* The alphabetical distribution of students is subject to change. Students are required to meet with their assigned or designated advisor.