About General Counsel

The Office of General Counsel manages the legal affairs of Houston Community College System. The Office of the General Counsel represents Houston Community College System, not individual students, faculty or staff, except when legal issues arise as a result of actions taken during the course and scope of employment or while acting for the college.

Departmental Contacts

Acting General Counsel

E. Ashley Smith
713.718.5027
edgar.smith2@hccs.edu

Executive Assistant

Susan Gram
713.718.7514
susan.gram@hccs.edu

Assistant General Counsels

Valerie Simpson
Assistant General Counsel
713.718.8233
valerie.simpson@hccs.edu

Sandra Garcia
Assistant General Counsel
713.718.8295
sandra.garcia7@hccs.edu

Legal Assistant

Sharon Flowers
713.718.8228
flowers.sharon@hccs.edu

Law Clerks

Katherine Jones
713-718-2294
katherine.jones@hccs.edu

Brittanye Morris
713-718-8234
brittanye.morris@hccs.edu