About the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the official governing body of Houston Community College. The Board is composed of nine members who are elected from single-member districts and who serve without remuneration. Board members are elected to staggered six-year terms. The Board has final authority to determine and interpret the policies that govern HCC. As part of their duties, the trustees maintain a full schedule of community service, public appearances, speaking engagements and legislative affairs on behalf of HCC. Board members represent an impressive mix of individual talents and professional backgrounds enabling them to provide governance of the highest quality.

Board Members

Dr. Adriana Tamez
District III

Robert Glaser
District V
Vice Chair

Dr. Carolyn Evans-Shabazz

Dr. Carolyn Evans-Shabazz
District IV

Zeph Capo
District I

Dave Wilson
District II


Dr. John P. Hansen
District VI

Neeta Sane
District VII

Eva L. Loredo
District VIII

Christopher W. Oliver
District IX


A message from HCC Board Chair Adriana Tamez

Jan 27, 2016

This is an exciting time for Houston Community College. As your new Houston Community College Board of Trustees Chair for 2016, one of my responsibilities is to not only lead, but to also share our appreciation for your hard work and dedication to HCC.