About the HCC Asian Scholarship Program (ASPIRE)

HCC ASPIRE is designed to support educational pursuits and achievements of Asian students and faculty of Houston Community College, and to support activities that highlight Asian culture.

HCC ASPIRE will support educational enrichment through gifts from association members, individuals and organizations as well as fundraising via an annual Scholarship Event.

ASPIRE Board Members

Executive Team

  • Neeta Sane, HCC Trustee, District VII
  • Dr. Parvin Bagherpour, Associate Vice Chancellor for International Student Services
  • Nghi Ho, Alief ISD Trustee
  • CC Lee- President/CEO, STOA Architects
  • Munira Panjwani-Zahid, Independent Public Relations & Communications Professional
  • Munir Ibrahim, Past President, Asian-American Family Services, APAHA
  • Ritu Raju, Ph.D. HCC Northwest - Town & Country, Assistant Chair-Technical Communication and Mass Communication

Advisory Committee

  • Sheila Briones, HCC Director of Community Development
  • Sophia James, Director of Advancement Services - HCC Foundation
  • Kristy Allen, e-eventsgroup, HCC Foundation
  • Faranak Zafarnia, Past President SIAWE, Scholarship Committee Member
  • Dr. Fay Lin Lee, Shell Oil, Operational Portfolio Manager
  • Cynthia Cisneros, KTRK 13, Vice President of Community Affairs
  • Viet Hoang, Chairman, Le Hoang Foundation, Owner and publisher, Yellow Magazine
  • Betty Gee, Board member, APAHA,, Board member and Treasurer of Dance of Asian America, and President of The Gee Family Association Education Fund.
  • Tony Ly, SVP/Finance Underwriter, STOA Architects
  • Nimmi Vale, Director, Little Yourkers Montessori School
  • Glen Gondo, President/Owner, Sushic, Inc.
  • Veena Ponnaganti, Board member, YLDP
  • Stephen Lee, Jr., Greatland Leasing & Management
  • Wea Lee, Founder, International Trade Center
  • Chet MaChen, President, Asiatown Business Partnership
  • Mehmet Okumus, President, Rain Drop Foundation, Inc.
  • Dr. Diana Pino, HCC Vice Chancellor of Student Service
  • Rima Adil, HCC Northwest Testing Associate
  • Sangeeta Pasrija, Director ICC
  • Lina and Michael Sabouni, Founder/Principal, AUTOARCH Achitects
  • Casey Youn, Founder/President, Weeco International Corporation
  • Khatira Aboulfatova, M.D., LMT, Reiki Practitioner, NuSkin Consultant, Lifestyle Coach
  • Anil Shah, Director, Pratham USA
  • Sarah Abraham, CEO, Zoya Inc., Texas LPC Board member
  • MarylynnKallina Matthews, Program Manager, Corporate Community Relations, CenterPoint Energy
  • Loloy P. Reyes, Board of Director, FACOST (Filipino-American Council of
  • South Texas), Vice President - Alief Community Association, Board member, People Caring for the Community Inc. Dr. Mei D. Frias, Education Committee Chair -Tagalog Association of Texas,
  • Board member, Gawad Kalinga Advocate, Community Service and Outreach Adviser - Alief Early College High School
  • Priti Patel, HCC Southwest Cashier II, Stafford Learning Hub
  • Chaundra Smith, HCC Southwest Office Manager
  • Maryum Khan, VP-Business Relationship, Wells Fargo
  • Mahnaz Kolaini, Lead Counselor, HCC NW College
  • Ajanta Barua, College Operations Office, HCC SW College

Honorary Committee

  • Charles C. Foster, Honorary Consul General of the Kingdom of Thailand
  • Al Busyra Basnur, Consul General of the Republic of Indonesia
  • Robin Elackatt, Missouri City Councilmember, District C
  • Gene Wu, State Representative District 137
  • Himesh Gandhi, Sugar Land Councilmember, At-Large, Position 1
  • Al Hoang, Houston City Councilmember, District F
  • Harish Jajoo, Sugar Land Councilmember, District 4
  • Ramey Ko, White House Advisory Commission Member, Initiative on Asian Americans & Pacific Islanders
  • Ken Mathew, Stafford Councilmember
  • Danny Nguyen, Missouri City Councilmember
  • Grady Prestage, Fort Bend County Commissioner, Precinct 2
  • Gordon Quan, Former Houston Councilmember
  • Ravi K. Sandill, Harris County Judge, 127th District Court
  • Randy Sim, City of Southside Councilmember, Position 2
  • Hubert Vo, Texas State Representative, District 149
  • Dr. Bandula Wijay, Honorary Consul General of Sri Lanka - Texas
  • M. J. Khan, Former Houston Councilmember
  • Carroll Robinson, HCC Trustee, District IV
  • Eva Loredo, HCC Trustee, District VIII


ASPIRE Inaugural Breakfast 2013

May 9, 2013, By Houston Community College

HCC-ASPIRE is designed to support the educational pursuits and achievements of Asian students and faculty of Houston Community College, and to support activities that highlight Asian culture.

  • Tags:
  • District,