A marketable skills achievement award is a workforce continuing education program that meets the minimum standard for program length specified in the federal Workforce Investment Act (WIA). Some programs are available for financial aid.

Marketable Skills Awards

Air Conditioning, Bilingual
A study of components, applications, and installation of mechanical air conditioning systems including operating conditions, troubleshooting, repair, and charging of air conditioning systems. The class will prepare the students to work in apartment complexes in air conditioning maintenance or assist in residential A/C installation and services. Students will learn field terminology in English to facilitate professional and technical growth. After completion of this class students will be prepared to take the EPA Certification Test

Certified Nursing Assistant Training (CNA ) for the English Language Learner
This program assists and prepares intermediate ESL students with the English language skills to enter the healthcare workforce as Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs). Students with English as a second language will acquire the English language skills needed to comprehend the modules presented in the Nurse Aide 1001 training and to acquire the English needed to speak with the patients in a health care organizational setting.

Successfully complete English Language Assessment at Intermediate Level or higher. Criminal background check, proof of immunizations (Chicken Pox, Hepatitis B, MMR, TB skin test, Tetanus).

Successful completion of the Certified Nurse Aide certification makes one eligible to take the State of Texas CNA Certification

Child Development Associate (CDA)
This series of three courses (144 hours) provides training that is required to apply for the Child Development Associate credential sponsored by The Council for Early Childhood Professional Recognition. This is a study of the principles of normal child growth and development from conception to adolescence. The focus will be on cognitive, physical, emotional, and social development.

Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)
Cisco Networking Academy offers Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) courses using Cisco’s on-line curriculum. This certification consists of 40 weeks of instruction delivered over the course of four 10-week semesters. Students are prepared for the CCNA exam at the Academy and referred to an independent test site for certification.

Cisco Certified network Professional (CCNP)
CCNP classes at the Cisco HCC Networking Academy provide students with classroom and hands-on lab instruction. Students learn about complex network configurations and how to diagnose and troubleshoot network problems. Students who successfully complete the advanced curriculum should be prepared to take the Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP) certification examinations upon completion of each course.

Commercial Truck Driving
The basic entry level truck driving program is designed to prepare students for an entry level truck driving position. The program consists of 2 courses taken as a block. The courses cover: rules, regulations, hours of service, and practical hands-on training.

Desktop Support and Networking Specialist Program
A+ provides the students with a solid foundation in PC Hardware and Operating System as well as hands-on training. The CCNA courses using Cisco’s on-line curriculum consists of 40 weeks of instruction delivered over the course of four 10-week semesters. Students are prepared for the CCNA and A+ exams at the Academy and referred to an independent test site for certification.  

EKG Technician
The EKG Technician certificate is designed to prepare students to take a national certification examination. EKG technicians are trained to record and monitor the heart’s electrical activity.They prepare patients for various methods of EKG testing, Holter monitoring, and assist physicians with stress (exercise) testing. Trained to recognize and evaluate heart rhythms, the graduate is qualified to work as an EKG monitor/telemetry technician.

Licensure/Certification:  National certification in EKG is offered by multiple agencies, including the American Certification Agency for Healthcare Professionals (ACA) and the Cardiovascular Credentialing Institute (CCI).

Health Information Specialist
These courses will provide knowledge and skills that are required of all clerical health care professionals. You will be taught medical terminology, acronyms, and abbreviations, understand different health insurance plans, such as HMOs, PPOs, Medicare and Medicaid. You will also learn all aspects and procedures of a medical billing software and claims processing along with ICD and CPT Coding.

Air Conditioning Technician
A study of components, applications and installation of mechanical air-conditioning systems including operating condition, troubleshooting, repair and charging of air conditions systems. This series of four courses provides training that covers the principles and practices of HVAC maintenance, repair, hazard and safety practices.

Multi-Family Property Management
This is a comprehensive study of property management, using textbook study with computer training and hands-on approach to train and educate property management professionals. The course is designed to provide the student with a sound knowledge and understanding of property management in multi-family situations.

Patient Care Technician
The Patient Care Technician, also known as a PCT Level 3, is a nationally recognized certificate for certified nurse aides with Phlebotomy and EKG training. National certification as a PCT is available from various agencies such as the American Certification Agency for Healthcare Professionals (ACA).

Phlebotomy Technician
Phlebotomy Technicians are trained to perform a variety of blood collection methods. The coursework includes theories and principles related to obtaining blood specimens from patients, including adults, children and infants. Emphasis is on safety, patient identification, quality assurance and specimen handling. The Phlebotomy Technician certificate is designated as an HCC Marketable Skill Award certificate.

Licensure/Certification: National certification in phlebotomy is offered by multiple agencies, including the American Certification Agency for Healthcare Professionals (ACA) and American Society of Clinical Pathologists (ASCP).

Welding Technician 1 Program
Introduction to Welding Multiple Processes: Basic welding processes, including oxy-fuel welding (OFX) and cutting, shield metal arc welding (SMAW), gas metal arc welding (GNAW), and gas tungsten arc welding (GTAW).